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TO: Employers, Consultants and Service Providers
FROM: New Hampshire Employment Security, WOTC Certifying Unit

Thank you for your interest in the Work Opportunity Tax Credit Program as administered in the
State of New Hampshire. Please be advised that New Hampshire uses a centralized mail-in
system for WOTC processing. It is the responsibility of the employer or an authorized
representative to request Certification in writing. Certification can be requested for first time
hires only.

An employer's complete request for certification must include:

A) A WOTC Pre-Screening Notice (IRS Form 8850) that has been completed on or
before the day the job offer is made, and sent to NHES no later than 28 days after
the start work date. This is a two-sided or two-page document. This document
must contain original signatures and all areas must be completed before it can be
accepted.

B) An Individual Characteristics Form (ETA 9061) that has been completed and
includes supporting documentation for the target group chosen. Examples of
supporting-documentation can be found on a separate page in this packet.

All completed WOTC Forms and documentation are mailed to: New Hampshire Employment
Security, WOTC Certifying Unit - Operations 45 South Fruit Street, Concord NH 03301-4857.
They may also be faxed to the number below.

For more information or questions regarding this program, please contact Jacob Woodward,
State WOTC Coordinator at 603-229-4452 (Fax) 603-229-4321.
Email: Jacob.R.Woodward@nhes.nh.gov or visit our web site (@ www.nhes.nh.gov

Sincerely,

z "l/// ,I/Zf\/ ;

Jacob Woodward
WOTC Coordinator

NHES is a proud member of America’s Workforce Network and NH Works. NHES is an Equal Opportunity Employer and complies
with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Auxiliary Aids and Services are available on request of individuals with disabilities

Telephone (603) 224-3311 Fax (603) 228-4145 TDD/TTY Access: Relay 1-800-735-2964 Web site: www.nhes.nh.gov



Work Opportunity Tax Credit Program
October 2012

WOTC Target Groups At-A-Glance

A) Qualified IV-A Recipients * * * This target group refers to any person who
is a member of a family receiving AFDC/TANF or benefits under a successor

program for any nine months during the 18-month period ending on the hiring
date. An IV-A recipient is, for purposes of the WOTC, a family member who is
specifically listed on the IV-A grant.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.

Target Group (B-FSV)

Qualified Food Stamp Veteran

This target group refers to any veteran certified by New Hampshire Employment
Security as one who:

1) isa member of a family receiving assistance under the Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program (SNAP) program for at least a 3-month period during the
14-month period ending on the hiring date;

2) has served on active duty (other than active duty for training) in the Armed
Forces of the United States for a period of more than 180 days or was
discharged or released from active duty in the Armed Forces of the United
States for a service connected disability; and

3) did not have any day during the 60-day period ending on the hiring date that
was a day of “extended active duty” in the Armed Forces of the United States.
The term “extended active duty” means a period of more than 90 days during
which the individual was on active duty, other than active duty for training.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.



Target Group (B-RSDV)

Qualified Recently Separated Disabled Veteran

This target group refers to any veteran who is certified by New Hampshire
Employment Security as:

1) Entitled to compensation for a service-connected disability and

2) Having a hiring date which is not more than one year after having been
discharged or released from active duty in the Armed Forces of the United
States.

Note: Being entitled to compensation for a service-connected disability is defined
with reference to section 101 of Title 38, U.S.C., which means having a disability
rating of 10-percent or higher for service connected injuries.

The tax credit for the “Disabled Veteran” sub-group is calculated at the rate of 25% of
the qualified first-year wages up to $12,000 for employees working at least 120 hours,
but less than 400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $3,000. For employees
working at least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the
qualified first-year wages up to $12,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of
$4,800.

Target Group (B-UDV)

Qualified Unemployed Disabled Veteran

This target group refers to any veteran who is certified by New Hampshire
Employment Security as:

1) Entitled to compensation for a service-connected disability and

2) Having aggregate periods of unemployment of 6 months or more during the
one-year period ending on the hiring date.

Note: Being entitled to compensation for a service-connected disability is defined
with reference to section 101 of Title 38, U.S.C., which means having a disability
rating of 10-percent or higher for service connected injuries.

The tax credit for the “Disabled Veteran” sub-group is calculated at the rate of 25% of
the qualified first-year wages up to $24,000 for employees working at least 120 hours,
but less than 400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $6,000. For employees
working at least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the
qualified first-year wages up to $24,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of
$9,600.



Target Group (B-STUV)

Qualified Veteran Receiving U.I. for 4 Weeks

This target group refers to any veteran who is certified by New Hampshire
Employment Security as:

1) Having aggregate periods of unemployment of at least 4 weeks but less than
6 months in the year prior to being hired.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.

Target Group (B-LTUV)

Qualified Veteran Receiving U.IL. for 6 Months

This target group refers to any veteran who is certified by New Hampshire
Employment Security as:

1) Having aggregate periods of unemployment of 6 months or more in the year
prior to being hired.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $14,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $3,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $14,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $5,600.

=]

IRS Notice 2012-13
WOTC Credit for Qua

C) Qualified Ex-Felons * ** This target group refers to any one who:

1)  has been convicted of a felony under any statute of the United States or any
state, and

2)  hasahiring date that is not more than one year after the last date on which
he/she was so convicted or was released from prison.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.
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D) Designated Community Residents * * * This target group refers to any person who:

1) isatleast age 18, but not yet age 40, on the hiring date, and
2)  has his/her principal place of abode within a rural renewal county (RRC).

In the case of a designated community resident, the term qualified wages shall not
include wages paid or incurred for services performed while he/she lived outside of
the RRC.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified first-
year wages $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than 400 hours.
This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at least 400
hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-year
wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.

E) Vocational Rehabilitation Referral * ** This target group refers to any person:

1) having a physical or mental disability that, for that individual constitutes or
results in a substantial handicap to employment, and

2) wasreferred to the employer upon, or within two years of completing
rehabilitative services pursuant to an individualized written plan for
employment under a state plan for vocational rehabilitation services approved
under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, or

3) being referred to the employer upon completion of or while receiving
individualized services pursuant to a plan of employment under a vocational
program for veterans, carried out under Chapter 31 of Title 38, U.S. Code.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.



G) Qualified Food Stamp Recipient * * * This target group refers to any person who:

1) has attained the age of 18 but not yet age 40 on the hiring date, and

2) isamember of a family receiving assistance under a food stamp program under the
Food Stamp Act of 1977 for the six-month period ending on the hiring date, or

3) receiving such assistance for at least three months of the five-month period
ending on the hiring date, in the case of an able-bodied adult without
dependents who ceases to be eligible for food stamps under the work
requirements at Section 6 (o) of the Food Stamp Act of 1977.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.

H) Qualified SSI Recipient * ** This target group refers to any person who is:

1) receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits under title XVI of the
Social Security Act for any month ending within the 60-day period ending on
the hiring date.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified
first-year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than
400 hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.

I) Long-Term Family Assistance Recipients ** * A “Long-term Family Assistance
Recipient” refers to any person who is a member of a family that:

1) has received family assistance (i.e., AFDC/TANF or a successor program) for
at least 18 consecutive months ending on the hiring date, or

2)  has received family assistance for a total of at least 18 months (whether or not

consecutive) beginning after August 05, 1997, and has a hiring date that is not
more than two years after the end of the earliest 18-month period; or

3) whose AFDC/TANTF eligibility expired under a Federal or State law after
August 05, 1997, for applicants hired within two years after their eligibility

expiration.

Note: TANF means Temporary Assistance to Needy Families.
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L) Long-Term Unemployment*** The term “qualified long-term unemployment
recipient” is defined as “any individual who is certified by the designated local
agency as being in a period of unemployment which :

1) isnotless than 27 consecutive weeks, and

2) includes a period in which the individual was receiving unemployment
compensation under State or Federal law.

The tax credit for this target group is calculated at the rate of 25% of the qualified first
year wages up to $6,000 for employees working at least 120 hours, but less than 400
hours. This allows a maximum credit amount of $1,500. For employees working at
least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 40% of the qualified first-
year wages up to $6,000. This allows a maximum credit amount of $2,400.

Qualified First-Year Wages...are wages that an employee earns during the first-year
period, which begins the day the employee starts work. The maximum amount of
wages to which the 40 percent tax credit may be applied during the first year shall not
exceed $10,000 for a maximum first year credit of $4,000.

Qualified Second-Year Wages...are wages that an employee earns during the second-
year period. During the second year, the maximum amount of wages to which the 50
percent may be applied shall not exceed $10,000 for a maximum credit of $5,000.

WOTC for Qualified Tax-Exempt Organizations which hire Qualified Veterans

Qualified tax-exempt organizations 501(c)

The WOTC tax credit for qualified tax-exempt organizations is applied against the
organizations “Payroll Taxes”.

The WOTC tax credit for qualified tax-exempt organizations which hire Qualified
Veterans is calculated at the rate of 16.25% of the qualified first-year wages for
employees working at least 120 hours, but less than 400 hours. For employees working
at least 400 hours or more, the credit is calculated at the rate of 26% of the qualified
first-year wages.



WOTC Forms Completion Requirements

IRS Form 8850 (Pre-Screening Notice and Certification Request for the Work
Opportunity Tax Credit)

Employers use IRS Form 8850 to pre-screen and to make a written request to the New
Hampshire Employment Security to certify the individual as:

« A member of a targeted group for purposes of qualifying for the WOTC tax
credit

Note: Do not file IRS Form 8850 with the Internal Revenue Service.

Submitting IRS Form 8850 to New Hampshire Employment Security is but one step
in the employer’s qualifying for the WOTC tax credit. New Hampshire Employment
Security must certify the job applicant is a member of a targeted group. After starting
work, the employee must meet the minimum number-of-hours-worked requirement
for the WOTC tax credit. A qualified employer may elect to take the applicable tax
credit by filing IRS Form 5884.

Notice to Employers...Before claiming the WOTC tax credit on IRS Form 5884,
an employer must obtain certification of an employee’s eligibility as a member of
a qualified WOTC targeted group. New Hampshire Employment Security is the
“designated local agency” responsible for issuing the required WOTC tax credit
certification.

Who Should Complete and Sign IRS Form 8850?

The job applicant gives information to the employer on or before the day a job offer
is made. This information is entered on IRS Form 8850. Based on the applicant’s
information, the employer determines whether he/she believes the applicant is

a member of a WOTC targeted group. If the employer believes the applicant is a
member of a WOTC targeted group, the employer completes the form. Both the
employee and the employer must sign IRS Form 8850 no later than the date for
submitting the form to New Hampshire Employment Security.

How do I get IRS Form 8850?

For your convenience, a copy of IRS Form 8850 (Rev.01-2012) is included in this
package. Employers may reproduce the attached IRS Form 8850 or may request
additional copies from New Hampshire Employment Security. Visit our web site at:
www.nhes.nh.gov select Employer, Employer Incentives to Hire, or the IRS’s web
site at: http://www.irs.gov



How do I use IRS Form 8850 for WOTC?

The job applicant furnishes information to the employer on or before the day the
job offer is made by completing page one of IRS Form 8850 (Pre-Screening Notice
and Certification Request for the Work Opportunity Credit). If the individual is
hired and has answered “Yes” to item 2, 3, 4 or 5, the employer must then complete
page 2 of form 8850. Both the employee and employer must sign IRS Form 8850,
with the employer submitting the original of the completed form to NHES at the
following address:

New Hampshire Employment Security
Attn: WOTC Program

45 South Fruit Street

Concord, NH 03301

Employers must submit the completed IRS Form 8850 to the above NHES address
with a U. S. Postal Service (USPS) postmark which is not later than 28 calendar
days following the employee’s employment start date. When the last day of the
28-calendar-day period ends on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next
succeeding business day, which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, will be
treated as the last day of the period. IRS 8850 form’s which are postmarked (USPS)
according to this rule will be considered timely when submitted to NHES.

Alternative Method of Filing or Signing Form 8850 - Filing or Signing by
Facsimile. IRS Notice 2012-13 provides the following guidance on alternative

methods of filing or signing IRS Form 8850 by facsimile. The IRS will also allow
the facsimile transmission of applicant and employer signatures on a Form 8850 if
the applicable DLA accepts Form 8850 via facsimile, the applicant and employer
intend the signatures on the faxed copy to be their signatures for purposes of the
document, and the requirements of paragraphs (1) and (2) below are satisfied:

(1) Same Information as Paper Form 8850. The facsimile submission is a
reproduction of IRS Form 8850 that provides the NHES with exactly the same
information as the paper copy Form 8850.

(2) Signature Requirements. IRS Form 8850 is signed by the job applicant and
the employer, under penalties of perjury, and transmitted to NHES in the
following manner:

(i) An original IRS Form 8850 is completed in paper copy and then signed
in ink by the job applicant;

(ii) The original IRS Form 8850, signed by the job applicant, is delivered to
the employer either in person or by facsimile;



(iii) The employer signs in ink either the paper copy of IRS Form 8850 that
was signed by the job applicant or the facsimile of that paper copy; and

(iv) The employer faxes the signed IRS Form 8850 to NHES no later than the
last day of the 28-calendar day period specified by § 51(d)(13)(A)(ii) (or
within the additional period authorized under paragraph 3 of IRS Notice
2012-17, dated February 09, 2012.

For purposes of this section, “employer” refers to any employer required to submit
IRS Form 8850 in order to obtain the WOTC under § 51 or the equivalent credit
under § 3111(e), or an authorized representative of such an employer.

Note: In accordance with the above provisions, employers may submit properly

completed IRS Form 8850’s to NHES, Attn: Jacob Woodward at the following fax
number 603-229-4321.

WOTC Special Rules

Qualified Wages ... In general, “qualified wages” for WOTC purposes means “wages”
as defined by IRS Code, Section 3306.

Qualified First-Year Wages ... are wages that an employee earns during the one-year
period, which begins the day the employee starts work. The maximum amount of
wages to which the 25 or 40 percent credit may be applied shall not exceed $6,000 of
first-year wages for all target groups, except qualified summer youth, which may not
exceed $3,000 or qualified veterans which may not exceed $12,000.

Eligibility of Resident Aliens and Non-Citizens ... Although an employee does not
have to be a United States citizen (e.g., a resident alien) to be a target group member,
the employee’s “citizen status” may affect whether wages paid to the employee are
“qualified wages” for claiming a tax credit under the WOTC program.

Agricultural and Railroad Employees ... A different wage definition applies to certain
agricultural and railroad employees. See IRS Form 5884, Work Opportunity Credit, for
more details.

Trade or Business Employment Wages ... To claim the tax credit on an employee’s
wages, more that half of those wages paid during any tax year must be earned by the
employee in an employer’s trade or business; therefore, maids, chauffeurs, and other
employees who work only in the home are not qualified for the WOTC.



On-the-Job Training (OJT) Payments ... If for any period an employer receives
federally funded payments for OJT for an employee, none of the wages paid to that
employee for the OJT period qualify for the WOTC. While the wages paid to the
employee during the OJT period do not qualify the employer for a tax credit, the time
spent by the employee receiving OJT qualifies the employer towards fulfilling the
minimum employment period requirement (retention period).

Non-Qualifying Rehires ... A person shall not qualify an employer for the tax credit if,
prior to the hiring date, the person was employed by the employer at any time.

Breaks in Employment ... A WOTC certified employee may experience one or more
breaks in employment, i.e., be laid off or quit and be re-hired by the same employer,
and continue to qualify his/her employer for the tax credit. However, the employer
may take the tax credit only on wages paid during the one-year period (or 90-day
period for qualified summer youth) beginning on the employment starting date,
including any breaks in employment. In determining whether an employee satisfies the
“minimum retention” period of employment, the employer totals the cumulative days
or hours the employee actually worked for the employer during the employee’s first
year of employment.

Limitation on Unused Credit in a Carry-back or Carry-over Year ... Unused WOTC
credits that can be taken in a carry-back or carry-over year cannot be more than the

tax liability limitation for that year, less any WOTC tax credit that is:
1) earned in the carry-back or carryover year, or
2) claimed in the carry-over year from a year earlier than the current year.

The WOTC, as a component of the general business credit, is subject to the net tax
liability limitation of Section 38 of the Internal Revenue Code and the carry-back and
carry-over rules of Section 39.

Nepotism ... No WOTC tax credit can be claimed for wages paid to relatives
employed by a taxpayer/employer. The tax credit is not valid if the employer/employee
relationship is any of the following:

1) A son or daughter of the employer, or descendant of a son or daughter;

2) A stepson or stepdaughter of the employer;

3) A brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister of the employer;

4) A father or mother of the employer, or an ancestor of either;

5) A stepfather or stepmother of the employer;

6) The nephew or niece of the employer;

7)  The uncle or aunt of the employer; or,

8) A son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law,
or sister-in-law of the employer.
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Examples of Documentary Evidence needed to process
WOTC Applications for the selected form 9061 category

** Supporting documentation does not need to be submitted within the 28 day rule,
but will be required to provide a proper determination of eligibility **

O QUESTION 12:
Are you at least age 16, but under AGE 40?

O Birth Certificate O Work Permit

O Driver’s License O School 1.D. Card
O Federal / State / Local Gov’t I.D.

O Copy of Hospital Record of Birth

[0 QUESTION 13:
Are you a Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces?

0 DD-214 or Discharge Papers

[0 Reserve Unit Letter of Separation

O Letter issued only by the Department of
Veterans Affairs (VA) on DVA Letterhead
or bearing the Agency Stamp Certifying the
Veteran status or the Veteran Has a service
connected disability. Letter should be signed
by the person who verified the disability.

O Any document that contains the individuals
name which shows a connection to the VA

O QUESTION 15:
Were you referred to an employer by a Vocational
Rehabilitation Agency approved by a State OR, by
the Department of Veterans Affairs?

0 Veterans Administration for Disabled Veterans

O Signed Letter from Authorized Individual on
DVA Letter

0 Head or Agency Stamp with Specific
Description of Months Benefits Received

0 QUESTION 17:
Were you convicted of a felony or released
from prison after a felony conviction during the
year before you were hired?

OO0 Written verification from Corrections Facility
O Written verification from Probation Officer
O Court Records Extracts

O Correction Institution Records

[J QUESTIONS 18 and 19:

18 - Do you live in a Rural Renewal County or
Empowerment Zone?

19 - Do you live in an Empowerment Zone and are
at least age 16, but not yet 18, on your hiring
date?

O Driver’s License

[J Voter Registration Card

[ Selective Service Registration Card

O Utility Bills 0 W-4

[0 Lease Papers 0 Work Permit
O Library Card

[0 Food Stamp Award Letter

QUESTIONS 21 and 22:
21 - Are you a veteran unemployed for a combined
period of at least 6 months (whether or not

consecutive) during the year before you were
hired?

22 - Are you a veteran unemployed for a combined
period of at least 4 weeks but less than 6
months (whether or not consecutive) during
the year before you were hired?

DD-214 or Discharge Papers

Reserve Unit Letter of Separation

Letter issued only by the Department of
Veterans Affairs (VA) on DVA Letterhead

or bearing the Agency Stamp Certifying the
Veteran status or the Veteran Has a service
connected disability. Letter should be signed
by the person who verified the disability.

O Any document that contains the individuals
name which shows a connection to the VA

I

These examples are not intended to be all-inclusive. New Hampshire Employment Security
may use other document sources, which it deems acceptable and appropriate.



